jEdit Community - Resources for users of the jEdit Text Editor
Archives
My header files are always treated as Objective-C code... :-(
Submitted by ernest on Thursday, 8 May, 2008 - 22:19
How do I get jEdit to treat my headers as C++ code rather than Objective-C code? I know I can go into the buffer properties and change it, but is there some way I can make this a permanent (or project wide) association?

Thanks,

Ernest
Syntax highlighting for Rails 2 files
Submitted by mamboze on Saturday, 10 May, 2008 - 04:04
Hi,
I'm editing a Rails 2.0.2 app and I find that files with the .erb extension do not show any syntax highlighting. I'm using jEdit 4.3 pre10 with Java 1.6.0_03 on a Ubuntu Gutsy box.

What should I do to get some highlighting up and running?

Thnx in advance

Roy
jEdit Coding Standards
Submitted by rowancompsciguy on Saturday, 10 May, 2008 - 23:27
Hello,

I am a masters student at Penn State University and I am working on my masters thesis. My thesis discusses how complexity can proliferate through a software system as it evolves. Part of my thesis involves a case study of the jEdit program. I was wondering if any of the developers could let me know if jEdit complies to any particular style guidelines or coding standards and, if so, what those guidelines are. This would be extremely useful in my research. Any information you could give me would be very much appreciated. Thanks for this great product!!

Thanks!!
TextAutocomplete too slow
Submitted by powery on Monday, 12 May, 2008 - 14:04
TextAutocomplete (0.9.5) on JEdit (4.3pre14) is too slow for large files (3 MB). 'Start for buffer' takes about 2 minutes. If Ctrl+B is used, it's fast.

Options:
max. words: 10000
min. prefix: 2
remember: 2
belongs to word?: Character.isLetter(insertion) || insertion == '_';

other default

Any ideas?
F# Edit mode (fsharp.xml v0.0.1 by Nicolas Vallée)
Submitted by gorgonite on Monday, 12 May, 2008 - 21:12
It's just a simple fork of another edit mode made for OCaml :