jEdit Community - Resources for users of the jEdit Text Editor
Archives
electric parens, etc
Submitted by kwerle on Wednesday, 11 July, 2012 - 18:05
As a rails coder, I end up doing a bunch of
<% code %>
and also
<div ...>

There does not seem to be a way to make <>'s electric - or even <% %>. Nor can I seem to do that using superabbrev - <TAB fails to autocomplete the abbrev I made. My guess is that it's ignoring the non-alpha character left of the cursor when I hit TAB.

I'm hoping someone else has solved this. Seems like someone must have! If not, I guess I could throw some code at it...

TIA,
Kurt
Syntax highlighting alias
Submitted by John Gallant on Monday, 16 July, 2012 - 17:08
I would like to assign new filename extensions to extensions already supported. Is there a way to do this?
Specifically, I am editing Objective C files with .mm extensions which does not seem to be supported. I would like to assign this extension to .m which is supported.
Another use I find handy is to name files with a .cx extension and alias that extension to .c. This allows me to view highlighted files I do not want searched.
jediut.exe over jedit java
Submitted by DocDJ on Wednesday, 18 July, 2012 - 13:32
I installed the java version of jedit some time ago and had a lot of files in the history list. I recently installed java.exe (Windows) and now, neither of these programs can find my history list. How can I recover it (and I think I would prefer to be able to use it in the java.exe version, to become independent of changes to the java installation.
How to disable the localization in jEdit 5.0?
Submitted by sinarf on Thursday, 19 July, 2012 - 08:50
Hello,

Just installed the last version of jEdit (5.0pre1) and everything is in French, probably because my professional computer is under a French version of Windows. I can see that it can be seen as a good idea, but it is not.