jEdit Community - Resources for users of the jEdit Text Editor
The 9th Circle of Hell: building a jEdit distribution with ant
Submitted by namxat on Wednesday, 4 August, 2004 - 04:47
Hello. I am not new to jEdit, but I am fairly new to ant. I am trying to build the dist target, and am routinely rewarded with a quite verbose, yet uninformative, list of errors.

Now I don't know if I should be superuser when I build this (I assume I should), and I don't know what environment variables ant and/or jEdit's build.xml file expect (the build.xml file is not enlightening to me). None of this is documented anywhere that I could find. I do have my $JAVA_HOME global environment variable set to '/usr/java/j2sdk1.4.2_05', and '$JAVA_HOME/bin' is included in the global $PATH variable.

Upon initial examination of ant's output, it appears as though none of the standard j2sdk classes are being found by ant. Since pretty much EVERY modern distribution of Sun's JDK includes the standard Java class files on the system classpath by default (1.4.2 DEFINITELY does), the only explanation I can think of is some sort of rogue dynamic classloader issue. In any case, I am thoroughly convinced that had Dante's Inferno been written in modern times, dealing with ant and/or dynamic Java classloading would have been listed as one of the punishments for sinners in the 9th Circle of Hell.

But enough venting from me. If anyone can think of any glaring newbie mistake I might be making after examining the following error trace from my pitiful attempt to build a jEdit distribution, I would greatly appreciate the advice:

[root@localhost jEdit]# ant dist
Buildfile: build.xml

init:
[delete] Deleting: /usr/src/jEdit/doc/docbook-wrapper.xsl

compile:
[javac] Compiling 362 source files to /usr/src/jEdit
[javac] /usr/src/jEdit/org/gjt/sp/jedit/textarea/TextAreaPainter.java:54: error: Superinterface `TabExpander' of class `org.gjt.sp.jedit.textarea.TextAreaPainter' not found.