jEdit Community - Resources for users of the jEdit Text Editor
Jedit strangely slow
Submitted by Anonymous on Wednesday, 8 September, 2004 - 18:27
I’ve been using Jedit for several years now on a number of different machines. I recently installed Jedit 4.2 final on a PIII 1.2ghz 512meg RAM notebook. I am having severe performance issues for some reason. For example, if I hit carriage return, I get a full 1 second pause before that action takes place on jedit. Similarly, I get a full 1 second pause when scrolling in the buffer (a full 1 second pause between each step in the scroll). Each time, my javaw process spikes the CPU to 100%. It spikes for even only 1 single carriage return in a new file with no other files open in the other tabs. Even the menus are slow I've uninstalled all extra plugins, so I don't think any of those were the culprit.

I have tried this with Java 1.4.2_05 as well as J2SE 5.0rc. I have tried this with Jedit 4.2final, as well as 4.2pre15 and 4.2pre14, with the same problem.

Does anyone have any suggestions? I use Jedit 4.2pre11 all the time on my notebook at home, which is a 1.4ghz mobile P4 with 512 … without _any_ problem. I simply can’t figure out what is happening. Any help would be much appreciated. Using something other than Jedit really isn't an option for me -- I've used it for so long and found it fits my needs perfectly! NOthing else even compares. I hope I can get it working on the machine here at work.
Comment viewing options
Select your preferred way to display the comments and click 'Save settings' to activate your changes.
Figured it out
by Anonymous on Wed, 08/09/2004 - 19:03
Okay ... I figured out why. And boy is it strange.

I forgot to mention in my previous post that I am using a dual monitor setup. I.e. my notebook is monitor 1, my CRT monitor 2.

If I start jedit in monitor 2 (i.e. thats where it was when I last closed it), then I have SEVERE performance problems.
If I start jedit in monitor 1, its fine.