jEdit Community - Resources for users of the jEdit Text Editor
Archives
i/o popups
Submitted by Frankly33 on Tuesday, 3 February, 2009 - 00:22
I am new to jEdit, and it keeps popping up I/O errors that aren't affecting me. How do I stop these from popping up?
Jedit launch hotkey ctrl+alt+j (c+a+j)
Submitted by KimBastin on Tuesday, 3 February, 2009 - 08:49
On WinXP, jEdit 4.3pre16 has hijacked the key combination ctrl+alt+j (c+a+j) as a keyboard shortcut to launch itself. I need this combination for something else, but it seems to be undocumented as a jEdit hotkey and I can't find any way to change or disable it.

I found a couple of similar queries on this forum, and the answer given was to open the jEdit shortcuts (.lnk's) and edit the properties (the field 'Shortcut key' under the Shortcut tab, presumably). I have three jEdit shortcuts — on the desktop, the quicklaunch bar and the Start menu, and on all of them the shortcut key is set to 'None'.

So my question is, where is the c+a+j hotkey combination that launches jEdit stored, and how can I change or disable it?

Thanks
Kim
Run macro in a specific EditPane split screen
Submitted by kircheis on Friday, 6 February, 2009 - 10:16
Someone asked something like this but got no answer.
http://community.jedit.org/?q=node/view/1688

I'm working with some old Cobol code full of "go to" instructions, so I wrote a macro that would take me to the corresponding place in code so I don't have to look for it manually.

I have jEdit screen split vertically in two, working on the same file. I tried adapting my macro to go to the next pane and search from there instead of the first one and then set the focus back again to the first pane.

I tried using view.nextTextArea(), but only the cursor go to the next pane, the macro still runs on the first pane. Then I tried using EditPane setBuffer, but it also runs on the same side of the split screen. Is there some other class with the methods I need or am I doing something really wrong?