jEdit Community - Resources for users of the jEdit Text Editor
File Associations
Submitted by SenlacHill on Tuesday, 19 September, 2006 - 03:43
Ok, I'm brand new to jEdit as of about an hour ago. I'd like to set my file associations, but cannot find the option to do that. Now, it may be staring me in the face, or maybe somewhere, perhaps obvious on this site, BUT, I can't find it... My eyeballs are getting shorter in my old age. Can someone please help me out here ??? (With the file associations that is.. lol)
Comment viewing options
Select your preferred way to display the comments and click 'Save settings' to activate your changes.
RE: File Associations
by redsv650 on Thu, 21/09/2006 - 14:05

Welcome to jEdit! It's an extremely powerful text editor that can do many customizable things. You will be richly rewarded if you take the time to learn about shortcuts, macros, beanshell scripting and plugins.

jEdit is a java app so the file associations are handled differently than normal win32 apps (I'm assuming you're using a flavor of Windows). Here are two suggestions:

OPTION 1 - use "Open with jEdit" from contextual menu
jEdit should have put an entry into the registry to support opening ANY file with jEdit. Right-mouse click on any file and you sould see an option to "Open with jEdit"

If that is not there, you can use regedit to add HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT/*/Shell/Open with jEdit/command with a value that looks like:
"C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.5.0_06\bin\javaw.exe" -Xmx64m -Xmx320m -jar "C:\Program Files\jEdit 4.3pre4\jedit.jar" -reuseview "%1"

*** Make sure to change the paths for javaw.exe and jedit.jar to match your setup. ***

OPTION 2 - map file types to jEdit
  1. Open an Windows explorer window, select "Tools"/"Folder Options..." and click the "File Types" tab
  2. Locate and click on the file type you want to update
  3. Click the [Advanced] button