jEdit Community - Resources for users of the jEdit Text Editor
indent block selections
Submitted by coolcat on Thursday, 9 August, 2007 - 03:30
In visual studio, if I 'block' select and hit tab, the whole block tabs over. In jedit, the whole block is deleted and replaced with a tab.

In visual studio I use this feature all the time, for aligning columns in text-based data tables (c/c++).

Thanks

ps. If this is already possible, my apologies, I'm new to the program.
Comment viewing options
Select your preferred way to display the comments and click 'Save settings' to activate your changes.
don't block select
by AlexCory on Wed, 29/08/2007 - 19:01
if your trying to fix tabs on code, you shouldn't block select.

instead just click and drag to select each line of code normally using the mouse only. Then press Tab to push lines of code over or shift+tab to pull the lines of code backwards.

The tabbing doesn't work when you block select. But it does with normal select.

would prefer if I could
by coolcat on Wed, 26/09/2007 - 22:16
Block selecting is brilliant if you can indent in and out, multiple lines at the same time. Visual Studio does it, Textpad does it, and probably others. But hey, it's just a feature request.

Note, even tabbing single lines seems a little odd to me:

If I go to the middle of a line and hit tab, it indents the remainder of the line. If I hit shift tab, it un-indents the *entire line*, which is counter-intuitive for me.

I’m starting to use jEdit for everything. It really is excellent.

Is Rectangular Selection on?
by elberry on Thu, 27/09/2007 - 20:05
In jEdit if you "block" select, meaning you just drag and select multiple lines. Hitting tab, or shift+tab will indent or unindent respectively.

Block Selection: http://www.idc-productions.com/images/block_selection.png